annoyances: laptop power button, and windows updates

Some quick venting about user interface issues:

I hate how I never know what the power button will do. When I open my laptop, I expect the screen to come on. Sometimes it does, and sometimes it doesn’t. When it doesn’t, I guess I’m supposed to hit the power switch, to get it to “wake up.” However, sometimes hitting the power button will make it shut off completely. Thus, I always waste precious time fiddling with the mouse, trying to make sure that if I hit the power button, the computer won’t just turn off. Of course, inevitably, I turn the power off, and lose all the work I was expecting to see (I count maintaining browser tabs as work.)

Finally, every so often, windows downloads an “update” without telling me. Then, regardless of whether or not I’m working, it starts pestering me to restart every 5 minutes. This whiny behaviour is unacceptable to me. I don’t have time to baby sit my computer to make sure it won’t turn off on me. I’m working. Don’t bug me, windows!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

