toolbox: webdev unicorns: conclusions (4/4)

Amid all the talk of web stacks, I’d like to take a step back to the Unix philosophy: do one small thing, do it well, make it pipeable and interoperable. I have a real need for separate, easily-understood coponents that are interoperable. They also need to perform well. Modern applications are getting so large, that it is increasingly difficult for a single developer to work on one alone. Abstractions can help, but only if they aren’t leaky, which requires high quality tools. For this reason, I am greatly enjoying the python community, where web development tools get more componentized, simpler, and more interoperable every day.

One benefit of the semantic web is that exposed applications can focus on doing simple things. Making these simple things easily consumable and highly interoperable means that developers can combine them in powerful new ways, to the benefit of users.

Afterall, it’s the users that really matter, anyway. The technology is the easy part of the problem; the trick is to transform our world into a better place to live in. An increased helping of stewardship among developers can help us focus more on benefiting society.

-Ben

This is the last in a five part series discussing the web, tools to develop it, and why its important, in the context of python, code, web servers, templating, and xml technologies.

intro (0/4)
The first post, in which I explain what I’m doing.
templates (1/4)
The second post, in which I discuss templating technologies.
servers (2/4)
Third post, in which I discuss server technology, and methods I like to expose code to the web, and some performance implications.
components (3/4)
In which I discuss XML technologies for python.
conclusion (4/4)
In which I briefly mention why I’m passionate about good technology.
Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

