bad microsoft technology

I don’t know about other people, but overall my experience with Microsoft technology has been a bad one. The api’s feel …just… gross. I much prefer the GTK api for my gui stuff.

Anyway, this post is just to note that IE7 seems to have broken the rebar SendMessage() with the message RB_GETBKCOLOR. I had been relying on this (rather, my predecessor had been relying on this) to get the background color of the chrome (yeah I know it’s not a solid color). It doesn’t work in IE7. I know that IE7 changed the hierarchy of the windows, as evident in SPY++. I’ve tried a few different things and it just doesn’t work.

Does anyone know how to get the background color of the chrome, or better yet, access to the chrome’s gradient, exposed to script via COM? I really need it! (I have a web browser control that needs to set its background to match the chrome.)

I also had trouble getting TrackPopupMenu() to work in a control in IE7. I found a solution at codeproject, and it turns out lots of other people are having the same problem. However, the fix posted at codeproject still resulted in grayed out menu items. I tried everything I could think of. Evidently, the fix is to add TPM_NONOTIFY as one of your flags. Why? I have no idea.

Microsoft hasn’t documented any of these changes for developers. They claim that things will just continue to work. It doesn’t work. The docs are useless. I’m frustrated.

In the open source world, at least you can look at the code. The code is the final authority on how something works, regardless of the presence (or lack thereof) of documentation.

I don’t even know what to suggest to Microsoft. I can’t think of any products of Microsoft that I even like. I understand and even respect the desire to put a product out there, even if it’s not perfect. But my experience as both as user and a developer has been consistently bad with Microsoft.

In case you don’t know of any alternatives, check out Ubuntu. I’ve never tried it, but I have tried other versions of linux. I’ve heard that ubuntu is the easiest to use.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

