getting set up

It’s amazing people do anything. I’m trying to get snop.us set up. We have some fantastic stuff planned. I’m spending an awful lot of time investigating what software is useful, and what is not. It’s really hard to tell, so maybe if I write down some of my expectations, I won’t have to work so hard to remember what they are, and may facilitate a quicker comparison of what my expectations are with how well a given software satisfies them:

  • Loose Coupling If you are writing web software, go out of your way to make sure it’s loosely coupled. Common.
  • Web Api Don’t assume you know how to best present and interact with your information. What we really need is a web api so that we can integrate your information services with our own needs. That said, most information services should be almost entirely about persistence. How does your data persist? I don’t care. I don’t want to know! I just want a reliable web api so I can easily integrate the data.

Those two things are of utmost important, and I suppose they are really the same thing. It implies having nice URI’s at the end of it all.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

